- Lindt Frequently Asked Questions
Lindt Frequently Asked Questions
Allergies & Dietary Restrictions:
Is there gluten or barley malt in Lindt chocolate?
Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt &Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component. Additionally, there are some specific premium chocolate products that are manufactured without cereal or barley malt; however, and even though Lindt & Sprüngli incorporates the most stringent cleaning process of all of our manufacturing lines, trace amounts of these gluten ingredients and components may have the opportunity to come in contact with non gluten products, and therefore we cannot make the statement that any of our premium chocolate products are purely "gluten free." We are sensitive to the fact that there are consumers who are unable to enjoy our chocolate at this time, and we hope that in the future we will be able to accommodate the needs of all our consumers, and offer options to those with varying dietary requirements.
Nuts in Lindt Products
Unfortunately, no Lindt product is 100% guaranteed nut allergen safe. The "may contain tree nuts or peanuts" warning informs you that the product may contain minute traces of tree nuts or peanuts because they are produced on the same production lines. All Lindt manufacturing facilities process nut products, so there is a potential for cross contamination. Though Lindt incorporates the most thorough cleaning process, trace amounts may cross contact with other products within the factory. According to allergen experts, a simple nut protein trace can cause an allergic reaction and you should consult your physician for a consumption recommendation. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of restricted diets due to nut allergies, and we are sensitive to the fact that these consumers may not be able to enjoy our chocolate at this time.
Soy Lecithin in Lindt Products
Soy lecithin can be found in our regular dark chocolate products, as well as milk and white chocolate. The Excellence 85%, 90%, and 99% bars are our only products that do not contain soya lecithin. We have an allergen control program in place and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination. However, we do label all of our products with "may contain traces of soy" as a precaution for the most sensitive consumers.
Milk and Whey in Lindt Products
Lindt uses skim milk, whole milk powder, and other dairy ingredients in many of our chocolate products. While our white and milk chocolate products contain the most, our 70%, 85%, 90% and 99% bars do not have milk products in them. All Lindt manufacturing facilities process milk, dark, and white chocolate products. We have an allergen control program in place, and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination, however, we do label all of our chocolate products that do not contain milk as an ingredient with the statement "may contain traces of milk" as a precaution for those that are most sensitive to milk and whey.
Eggs or Poultry Ingredients in Lindt Products
Poultry is not used in any of Lindt products. While eggs can be an ingredient in some of our products, FDA regulations require that all egg and egg byproducts be listed out in the ingredient statement. Please always refer to the packaging for a definitive ingredient listing.
Do you sell sugar-free/reduced-sugar chocolate products?
Unfortunately, we do not make any sugar-free products. You may try the 85% bar which has 5g of sugar per serving, or the 70% bar which has 12g of sugar per serving. We also have a 99% cocoa bar, which is usually reserved for baking purposes. These products are available at our Lindt Chocolate Shops and on our website.
back to top
Questions Regarding Other Ingredients in Lindt Products:
Are there flavanols in Lindt chocolate?
Lindt uses a high-quality manufacturing processes which maintains the highest level of flavanols and polyphenons possible. The higher the cocoa content of the chocolate, the higher the flavanol level. We do not publish proprietary information on the flavaol levels in our chocolate.
Are there trans fats or hydrogenated oils in Lindt chocolate?
Our Lindor brand products do not contain any trans-fats, or hydrogenated oils. Some of our other products may. It always best to consult the specific nutritional labeling of the individual product you are interested in.
Does Lindt use hormones in their chocolate?
Lindt and our milk suppliers do not endorse or opposed the approval or use of bST on dairy cows. Legal approval of rbST, and the responsibility of safeguarding the American food supply is determined by the United States Food and Drug Administration following scientific evaluation. The agency had determined after a thorough review that rbST is safe and effective for dairy cows. In addition, the agency found there was no significant difference between milk from treated and untreated cows. Furthermore, there is currently no way to differentiate analytically between naturally occurring bST and recombinant rbST in milk, nor are there any measurable compositional differences between milk from cows that receive supplemental rbST and milk from cows that do not. As a result, Lindt cannot confirm or deny the presence of this in the raw material supply.
How much caffeine is in chocolate?
Caffeine is a natural compound derived from plant sources like kola nut and naturally found in substances like coffee and tea. However, very little caffeine is found in chocolate in comparison to the amount found in the other commonly consumed sources. Generally, 1oz of Dark Chocolate contains about 20 mg of caffeine, 1 oz of Milk Chocolate contains about 6 mg of caffeine, and 1 oz of White Chocolate contains less than 2 mg of caffeine. By comparison, an average can of soda contains about 50 mg of caffeine and the average cup of coffee approximately 80 - 155 mg. The caffeine content will always vary, depending on the product and even in some cases depending on the specific cocoa bean and origin.
back to top Miscellaneous Product Questions: What is the cocoa content of Lindt chocolate? 30% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Milk chocolate truffles and milk chocolate based bars
43% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Dark chocolate truffles and dark chocolate truffle bars
47% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Excellence bars such as the Intense Orange, Mint, Chili, and Sea Salt Bars
49% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Surfin Bittersweet Bar (also called semi-sweet)
60% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Extra Dark truffles (note: the truffle shell is 60% cocoa, however, the chocolate filling is only 35% cocoa)
70% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Excellence 70% Bar
85% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Excellence 85% Bar
90% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Excellence 90% Bar
99% Minimum Cocoa Content
• Excellence 99% Bar
What is the difference between bittersweet and semi-sweet, or edelbitter vs. zartbitter? The terms bittersweet and semisweet are the same, as are zartbitter and edelbitter, which are synonyms for dark chocolate with a high content of cocoa. Zartbitter and edelbitter are expressions used mostly by Germans and Austrians to describe dark chocolate. Where do our cocoa beans come from? Lindt cocoa beans are sourced from different South American and Caribbean countries, and from Ghana. Are Lindt products Kosher? Lindt USA's LINDOR truffles are now certified Kosher (dairy Kosher). The flavors are: Milk, White, Dark, Extra Dark, Peanut Butter, Hazelnut, Raspberry, Dark Orange, Mint, Vanilla, Peppermint, Caramel and Sea Salt, as well as the seasonal flavor (milk chocolate surrounding white chocolate center): Snowman, Valentines, Spring and Halloween LINDOR truffles. The Coffee, Almond, Citrus, Coconut and Irish Crème truffles are not Kosher certified. Not all LINDOR truffle packaging is carrying the Kosher certification symbol yet, but as new packaging is designed, the Kosher symbol will be included. Why can't I find any liqueur-filled Lindt products in the USA? Due to the current federal and state regulations, Lindt Chocolate does not import any liqueur-filled products into the USA. How should I store my chocolate? If stored under proper conditions, our products will retain their freshness for many months. The most favorable storage temperature for our chocolate products is between 60° and 68° Fahrenheit, and this should be occurring in a cool dry place. Which wrapper colors go with which truffle flavors? • Gold = white chocolate
• Red = milk chocolate
• Dark/Royal Blue = 39% minimum cocoa dark chocolate
• Black = 60% minimum cocoa dark chocolate shell with 39% minimum truffle center
• Light/Sky Blue = stracciatella (white chocolate shell with cocoa nibs / white chocolate center)
• Light Green = mint
• Dark Green = peppermint
• Bronze/Copper = peanut butter
• Hot Pink = raspberry
• Brown = hazelnut
• Orange = Orange
• Dark Brown = Coffee
Does Lindt offer wedding and event favors? We offer both favor boxes and personalized ribbon through our Lindt Chocolate Shops. Please use the store locator to find the shop nearest you and call them directly for details. What is the shelf life of Lindt Chocolate products? Please refer to the “Best Before” date printed on the packaging. The “Best Before” date on our chocolate products is a quality tool. It assures that the quality of a product consumed at the end of the shelf life still lives up to the Lindt quality expectation when stored at the right conditions. Best Before dating is designed as a consumer friendly method to help the customer understand the freshness of the item. Lindt products typically have a shelf life of 9-12 months, and some high cocoa content products can have a shelf life up to 15 or 18 months. back to top Information & Other Requests: Donations and Sponsorships Please visit our Donation & Sponsorship page for our policy. Sample Requests Unfortunately, due to the overwhelming number of requests for samples, Lindt & Sprüngli USA is unable to fulfill free sample requests. However, please visit a local Lindt Chocolate Shop to sample a truffle flavor and for information on coupons, promotions, special offers, or to sign up for our mailing list. Do you have a catalog or mailing list? At this time, we have only seasonal catalogs available. Please contact us to request a catalog by calling 877-MY-LINDT.If you'd like to sign up to receive emails as well, you may do so via phone or our website. Bulk Product and Wholesale Program Information Our volume discounts start at orders of $1,000 or more for Business-to-Business purchases. This program is available through our Corporate Gifts Chocolate Concierge or at one of our Lindt Chocolate Shops.
Our wholesale program starts at 500 lbs of product for resellers. Please call our corporate office at 1-877-MY-LINDT and ask for a customer service representative in the wholesale department. International Orders and Shipping At this time, we are unable to process orders from our Lindt U.S.A. website to ship to any destination outside of the continental United States. Additionally, and for security reasons, we are unable to process orders using an internationally issued credit card for delivery in the U.S. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Shipping to APO/FPO and PO Boxes At this time we are unable to process orders shipping to PO Boxes, and APO/FPO addresses. We request a street name for our deliveries to ensure that our product is received within the time limits we have established for the product to arrive at your door in pristine condition. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Can I use my gift card for orders placed online? Yes, Lindt Chocolate Gift cards are redeemable as forms of payment both online at Lindt.com and in Lindt Chocolate Shops.
Check balance now > Can I use my web gift certificate online? Unfortunately, online gift certificates from Lindtusa.com are no longer redeemable online. Please contact our Consumer Affairs team at 800-338-0839 so we may provide alternative solutions for you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. How are sales taxes calculated for my order? Lindt Chocolate is taxable in any state where we have a physical store location and/or employees, as long as candy is taxable in that state. Currently Lindt Chocolate purchased at lindt.com is taxable in the following states: AL, AR, CO, CT, FL, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, MA, MD, ME, MN, MO, MS, NC, ND, NJ, NY, OK, RI, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WV. Employment Opportunities We have a variety of job opportunities that provide dynamic individuals the opportunity to work in a professional environment and realize their career growth potential. Please visit the 'Careers at Lindt' page for information on employment opportunities and the application process for starting your career at Lindt and Sprüngli. Factory Tours Unfortunately, due to company policies and for liability reasons, we do not offer tours to the public in the United States. School Research Information All available information related to Lindt & Sprüngli can be found in the "Chocology"and "About Us" sections of the Lindt USA website. Unfortunately, and at this time, we are unable to provide supplies or props. Canadian store listing For more information about Lindt Outlets and Boutiques located in Canada, please visit their website or call 1-866-374-1914.